The IEEE Teaching Excellence Hub includes content curated and reviewed by the Teaching Excellence Hub Editorial Board. The board includes members from all ten IEEE regions, reflecting the global nature of IEEE.

Meet the members of our editorial board below.

Hamadou Saliah-Hassane

Hamadou Saliah-Hassane (Co-Chair)

Professor, Department of Science and Technology
TELUQ University in Montreal

Professor Saliah-Hassane earned a PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering from McGill University in Montreal, a Bachelor and Master of Applied Science degree from École Polytechnique de Montréal, Canada. He is currently teaching Informatics and Computer Networks and Security at TELUQ University in Montreal where he is carrying research on Intelligent Distributed Systems and Mobile Robotics.

Professor Saliah-Hassane has received many awards in recognition of his accomplishments, including many IEEE Education Society Certificates of Appreciation, IEEE Education Society’s EdWin C. Jones, Jr. Meritorious Service Award (2019). And aligned with his work on Distributed Embedded Systems, the IEEE Standards Association award with appreciation for chairing and contributing to the development of IEEE Standard 1876TM – 2019 on “Networked Smart Learning Objects for Online Laboratories” (2019), the IEEE SA 2019 Emerging Technology Awarded to
IEEE SA 1876TM – 2019 Working Group. Under the Candidate leadership as the Chair of Montreal IEEE Education Society Chapter (2005 -2022), the Chapter received the “2019 Chapter Achievement Award for sustained contributions of innovative educational and professional activities in the community”.

Timothy Kurzweg IEEE

Timothy Kurzweg (Co-Chair)

Director, School of Engineering; Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Penn State Erie, the Behrend College

Dr. Timothy Kurzweg is the Director of the School of Engineering at Penn State Erie, the Behrend College, and professor of electrical and computer engineering. He previously served as vice provost for undergraduate education at Drexel University. Kurzweg holds a doctorate and a master’s degree in electrical engineering from the University of Pittsburgh. He has a bachelor’s degree from Penn State. Kurzweg’s research in optical microsystems and alternative materials, which has applications in bio-sensing, communications, and medical imaging, has been supported by the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense, and private industry. He has served as principal or co-principal investigator for approximately $9.5 million in funded research and has published more than 80 journal and conference papers. He also holds multiple patents. Kurzweg is a Senior Member of IEEE, currently serves as the Chair of the IEEE Educational Activities University Resources Committee, and served as President of IEEE-HKN in 2017.

Steve Watkins Headshot

Steve E. Watkins

Professor and Interim Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering
Missouri University of Science and Technology

Steve E. Watkins is the Interim Chair and a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Director of the Applied Optics Laboratory at the Missouri University of Science and Technology (formerly the University of Missouri-Rolla).  He is active in IEEE (senior member), IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu, SPIE (Fellow), and ASEE.  His research and teaching interests include smart sensor systems, UAV instrumentation, fiber optics, imaging, engineering education, and pre-college education.  He is coordinator of the campus Smart Composite Bridge project and is advisor to the following student groups: IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu, Tau Beta Pi, and Toastmasters.

Russ Meier

Russ Meier

Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Milwaukee School of Engineering

Dr. Russ Meier teaches computer architecture at Milwaukee School of Engineering. His funded research explores how first year students develop computational thinking. He received the Iowa State University Teaching Excellence Award, the Iowa State University Warren B. Boast Award for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence, and the MSOE Oscar Werwath Distinguished Teacher Award.

He belongs to IEEE and its HKN, Computer and Education Societies, as well as the American Society for Engineering Education and its Electrical and Computer Engineering and Educational Research and Methods divisions. In these groups, he helps deliver engineering education conferences, webinars, and certificate programs. He leads teams accrediting engineering degrees.

IEEE elevated him to Fellow for contributions to global online engineering education. And, the International Society for Engineering Education bestowed International Engineering Educator Honoris Causa for outstanding contributions in engineering education.